Goodale dominates in the Phoenix Communications 150 NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour event, Tommy Baldwin Racing wraps up the owner championship

Column By: Matthew Wiernasz

Photo By: Mike Petrucci

THOMPSON, CT- Eric Goodale dominated the Phoenix Communications 150 NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour event on Sunday at Thompson Speedway Motorsports Park.  Goodale took the lead from Doug Coby on lap 78 and never looked back.  The only caution of the event came out on lap 13 as Tommy Catalano spun.

Tommy Baldwin wrapped up the 2022 NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour owners championship on Sunday as Mike Christopher, Jr finished in second.

Anthony Nocella finished in third.  Patrick Emerling finished in fourth and Kyle Bonsignore rounded out the top five.  Points leader Jon McKennedy finished in sixth.  Kyle Soper finished in seventh. Doug Coby finished in eighth. Ron Silk finished in ninth and Bobby Santos, III rounded out the top 10.

The NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour will close out its 2022 season with the Virginia For Lovers 200 at Martinsville Speedway on Thursday, October 27.

There were other Tour Type Modified Races this past weekend.  The Modified Racing Series raced on Friday night.  Ronnie Williams took the lead on final restart of the 75-lap event and passed Max Zachem on the outside  Williams got to the front in the early laps of the event. The first caution of the event came out on lap 41 for a spin involving Tommy Barrett, Jr.  On the next restart, there was a multicar wreck that involved Tyler Barry, Kevin Iannarelli, and Mike Collins. The final caution of the event came out on lap 52 for a spin by R.J. Marcotte in turn 4. Williams went on to win the event. Max Zachem would finish in second and Eric Goodale would finish in third.  Jacob Perry would wrap up the 2022 Modified Racing Series championship.

Ryan Preece won the Sunoco 100 Outlaw Open Modified event on Saturday night. Woody Pitkat would lead the majority of the event. The first caution of the event came out on lap 82 as the field came down pit road and took tires.  Pitkat would lead on the restart. There would be two more cautions on before Preece took the lead for good in the closing laps of the event.  Pitkat finished in second and Matt Swanson finished in third.

The 2nd annual Weston Automotive Sunoco Modified Triple Crown took place as Stephen Kopcik still went undefeated as he won on Friday night.  Mike Christopher, Jr would win on Saturday and Sunday and win the Triple Crown Championship. Kopcik would win the 2022 Sunoco Modified Championship.

The New England Supermodified Series would be a part of the weekend on Saturday. Matt Swanson and Ben Seitz would have a side-by-side battle for the lead for five laps.  Swanson would end up taking the lead and winning in only his second Supermodified start. The New England Supermodified Series will have one race remaining on their schedule as they will race at the New London-Waterford Speedbowl on Saturday, October 29.

Garrett Hall led the field to the green in the 75-lap PASS Super Late Model race.  Wayne Helliwell, Jr took the lead from Hall on lap 12. Hall would retake the lead as he went on to win at Thompson for the first time since 2016. Helliwell, Jr would finish in second, and D.J. Shaw would finish in third.  The next event for the PASS Super Late Models will be at Oxford Plains Speedway this Saturday as they will wrap up their 2022 season at the New London Waterford Speedbowl on Saturday, October 29.

Tom Carey, III dominated the 75-lap ACT Tour Late Model race as he led every lap. He would have to challenge many drivers for the win as he had a battle with Alexandre Tardff, D.J. Shaw, and Derek Gluchacki.  Carey, III would be able to hold off Gluchacki in the final laps and win the event.  The final two events of the 2022 season for the ACT Tour will be at Seekonk Speedway for the Haunted Hundred on Saturday, October 22 and the season finale will be at the New London-Waterford Speedbowl on Saturday, October 29.

Ryan Morgan won the 25 lap Late Model race and clinched the 2022 Late Model Championship in a tiebreaker.

Mike Viens won the Mini Stock Open on Friday.  Brett Meservey won the Harry Kourafas Pro 4 Modified Memorial. The next race for the Pro 4 Modifieds will be at Claremont Motorsports Park this weekend. Shawn Monahan won the EXIT Realty Pro Truck Series event. The next event for the Trucks will be at New London Waterford Speedbowl on Saturday, October 22. Alexander Pearl won the 25 lap SK Lite Modified race. Scott Sundeen won the 20 lap Limited Sportsman race as Larry Barnett won the Limited Sportsman championship.  Dave Trudeau won the Mini Stock race as Kevin Moore won the championship. Avery Stoehr won the NEMA Lites race.

Kris Watson would win the R&R Street Stock Open.  Their next event will be at Hudson Speedway on Sunday, October 30.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: